Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019: Ravish Kumar, the sixth Indian journalist to receive the Magsaysay award

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019: Ravish Kumar, the sixth Indian journalist to receive the Magsaysay award

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019: Nobel laureate of Ramon Magsaysay Awards has been announced. The 5 Magsaysay Award winners of the year 2019 include Indian journalist Ravish Kumar. Ravi Kumar received this award for his bold and transformational contribution to Hindi TV journalism.

Let the Ramon Magsaysay Award come into existence in April, 1957. This award (Ramon Magsaysay Award) is given in memory of former President Ramon Magsaysay of the Philippines. This award is given to individuals and institutions of Asia for their bold and remarkable works done in their respective fields. This highest honor in Asia is provided every year on August 31, in Manila, capital of Philippines. Former President of the Philippines, Ramon Magsaysay, is born on this day. For the Magsaysay Award, 6 categories have been divided.

These categories are in Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019

  1. Government Services (Government services / GS)
  2. Public services / PS
  3. Community leadership / CL
  4. Journalism, Literature and Creative Communication Arts (JLCCA)
  5. Peace and International Understanding (PIU)
  6. Emergent leadership / EL
Read this:   Health News: Shocking study revealed about pregnant women across the country including Delhi

Journalism, literature and creative communication arts have been kept in the same category in various categories marked for the Magsaysay award. Among the award recipients, Ravish Kumar is the 11th Indian. Ravish Kumar, who received this award in the journalistic terms, is an Indian journalist.

It is 12 years later that an Indian journalist received this prestigious award. Prior to Raviish Kumar, P Sainath got the Ramon Magsaysay Award in 2007 for outstanding work in the field of journalism.

Ramon Magsaysay Award 2019: Ravish Kumar, the sixth Indian journalist to receive the Magsaysay award

In addition to Ravish Kumar, Myanmar’s Ko Cin, Angahan Neilpiit of Thailand, Ramand of Philippines and Kim Jong Ka of South Korea are also included in this year’s Ramon Magsaysay Award winners.

Indians who received Ramon Magsaysay Award in Journalism, Literature and Creative Communications Arts category

  1. 2019 – Raviish Kumar (journalist)
  2. 2007 – Palgumi Sainath (reporter)
  3. 1997 – Maheshweta Devi
  4. 1992 – Ravi Shankar
  5. 1991 – K V Subabna
  6. 1984 – RK Laxman (reporter)
  7. 1982 – Arun Shourie (journalist)
  8. 1981 – Gaur Kishore Ghosh
  9. 1975 – Bubli George Varghese (journalist)
  10. 1967 – Satyajit Rai
  11. 1961 – Amitabh Chaudhary (reporter)
Read this:   Reno Mobile: OPPO's smartphones are tremendous in terms of innovation, new and unique technology will be seen in the new Reno

Total Winner of Ramon Magsaysay Award in India

Tell you that Vinoba Bhave was the first Indian Acharya to receive Ramon Magsaysay. He got this award in 1958. Apart from them, many Indians, including Mother Teresa, Jaiprakash Narayan, Baba Amte, Delhi Chief Minister Arvind Kejriwal, Aruna Roy, Sandeep Pandey, Kiran Bedi, Anna Hazare and Sanjeev Chaturvedi have received this honor.

Also Read this: Former President Pranab Mukherjee Nanaji Deshmukh Bhupen Hazarika to be awarded with Bharat Ratna know detail


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here