Earthquake in Delhi-NCR: Earthquake tremors, Delhi shaken for the fifth time in a month and a half, know – which earthquake zone is Delhi

Earthquake in Delhi-NCR: Earthquake tremors, Delhi shaken for the fifth time in a month and a half, know – which earthquake zone is Delhi

Earthquake in Delhi-NCR: The tremors were felt once again in the capital on Friday. For the fifth time during the last one and a half months, such tremors were felt. The earthquake measured 4.6 on the Richter scale. However, there is no report of loss of life or property.

National Seismology Center (NCS) Director (Operation) JL Gautam said that the earthquake occurred at 9.8 am. The epicenter of the earthquake was Attial village of Rohtak in Haryana. The four earthquakes that occurred earlier in Delhi during the month and a half included in the Seismic Zone Four were on 12, 13 April and 10, 15 May. Their intensity ranged from 2.2 to 3.5 on the Richter scale. The special thing is that the epicenter of all these earthquakes was Wazirabad in North-East Delhi and Wazirpur in North Delhi.

A little faster this time

The great thing is that since the nationwide lockdown was declared on March 25 to deal with the Corona crisis, earthquakes have occurred several times in a row. Last time the epicenter of the earthquake was in Delhi itself. Actually, three faults of tectonic plate are passing from around Delhi. Due to this, frequent earthquakes are occurring in and around Delhi. The condition is that a fourth earthquake has occurred within 1 month. Earlier, there were 2.5 to 3.5 earthquakes on the Richter scale. That is, Friday’s earthquake was of the highest intensity as compared to recent earthquakes.

Delhi in Risk Zone (Earthquake in Delhi-NCR)

Although Delhi comes in Zone 4 which is quite risky zone, but the relief is that these faults are not very active. According to experts, the Himalayan summit from Hindu Kush to Arunachal Pradesh, the Indian and Eurasian plates move in opposite directions to each other. Due to this, high intensity earthquakes can occur in Uttarakhand and the surrounding area. In such a situation, there is not much danger to Delhi at the moment.

India’s earthquake zone is divided into 4 parts

The Bureau of Indian Standards has divided the entire India into four seismic zones based on scientific information received from various agencies. It is the most dangerous zone 5. According to scientists, the region may experience a magnitude 9 earthquake on the Richter scale. Know which region of India is located in which zone.

Zone 5

Zone-5 covers the entire Northeast of India, parts of Jammu and Kashmir, Himachal Pradesh, Kutch run in Uttarakhand Gujarat, parts of North Bihar and Andaman and Nicobar Islands. There are frequent earthquakes in this area.


Zone-4 includes Jammu and Kashmir and the rest of Himachal Pradesh, Delhi, Sikkim, northern parts of Uttar Pradesh, Indus-Ganges basin, Bihar and West Bengal, parts of Gujarat and parts of Maharashtra near west coast and Rajasthan. is.


Zone-3 includes Kerala, Goa, Lakshadweep Islands, the rest of Uttar Pradesh, Gujarat and West Bengal, parts of Punjab, Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh, Bihar, Jharkhand, Chhattisgarh, Maharashtra, Odisha, Andhra Pradesh, Tamil Nadu and Karnataka.


Zone 2 is the least earthquake-prone area. It is placed in the category of least hazard prone area. Zone-2 covers the rest of the country.

Also Read these


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here