India vs South Africa: India won the Test Series with 3.0: Preparations for Diwali have started in India. Prior to Deepawali, Team India has given Mahajit’s gift to the countrymen. In the three-match Test series, Virat Kohli’s army has cleaned up South Africa 3-0. On Tuesday, the fourth day of the Ranchi Test, India trounced South Africa by an innings and 202 runs. India has been handed the Freedom Trophy after winning the Test series.

Batting first after winning the toss in Ranchi Test, Team India declared their first innings by scoring 497 runs for 9 wickets. In response, South Africa were all out for 162 runs in their first innings. Based on the first innings, India got a lead of 335 runs. The African team could not save the follow-on, after which they had to bat again.

After getting a follow on, South Africa collapsed for 133 runs in the second innings. Simultaneously, the Virat Brigade gave the gift of Mahajit. Theunis de Bruyn scored 30 and George Linde scored 27 for South Africa. Mohammed Shami took the maximum 3 wickets for India. Shahbaz Nadeem and Umesh Yadav got 2-2 wickets.

Second innings 

In the second innings also, the situation did not change for South Africa and his wickets kept falling. First Quinton de Kock (5) was bowled by Umesh Yadav on the best ball. After this, Mohammed Shami bowled Jubair Hamza, who scored a half-century in the first innings without opening the account, made the visiting team score two wickets for 10 runs. Captain Faf du Plessis (4) also became a victim of Shami. Shami also did not let Temba Bavuma open the account. Wriddhiman Saha caught Bavuma’s catch on Shami’s ball. A ball from Umesh Yadav to Dean Elgar went to the helmet after which he was retired hurt.

Heinrich Klassen (5) was sent to the pavilion by Umesh on a total score of 36. The defeat of South Africa was decided from here. His lower order, however, struggled a bit. George Linde scored 27 and Dane Pete scored 23 runs. Kagiso Rabada became the victim of Ashwin by scoring 12 runs.

South Africa all out for 162 in the first innings

India piled on South Africa for 162 runs in 56.2 overs in the first innings. India declared their first innings for 497 runs at the loss of nine wickets. In this context, India has a lead of 335 runs. India gave the host team a follow-on. For South Africa, only Zubair Hamza was able to bring the Indian bowlers to some extent. He scored 62 runs off 79 balls with the help of 10 fours and a six.

Africa lost their two wickets for only 9 runs. Mohammed Shami took the wicket of Dean Elgar (0) and Umesh Yadav for Quinton de Kock (4 runs). Umesh Yadav bowled Faf du Plessis for 1 run. After this Hamza got some support from team vice-captain Temba Bavuma and both of them handled the team to some extent. The two shared a 91-run partnership for the fourth wicket. Jadeja broke this partnership by bowling Hamza on a total score of 107.

Shahbaz Nadeem Debut Match

Playing his debut Test match, Shahbaz Nadeem, with his spin, sent Bavuma, the second soldier of this partnership, to the pavilion. After Hamza’s dismissal, Bavuma missed out on Nadeem’s ball in the next over and Wriddhiman Saha gave South Africa a fifth blow with no mistake in stumping him. With this, Nadeem opened his wicket account in Tests. In this match, Henrik Klassen, who came into the team, could score only six runs.

Jadeja bowled him on a total score of 119. Apart from three African batsmen, no other batsman could reach the double figures. Umesh Yadav took three wickets for India. Mohammad Shami, Shahbaz Nadeem, Ravindra Jadeja had two successes each. An African player was run out.

India scored 497 in first innings

Team India declared their first innings by scoring 497 runs for 9 wickets. Rohit Sharma scored a double century for the first time in Test cricket. Rohit scored 212 runs in 255 balls with the help of 28 fours and 6 sixes. Vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane scored his 11th century of Test career. Rahane scored 115 runs. The highest wickets for South Africa were taken by George Linde (4), Cagiso Rabada with three while Enrique Nortje and Dan Pete got 1–1 wickets.

Rohit hit double century in test cricket for the first time

‘Hitman’ Rohit Sharma continued his explosive form in Ranchi Test match and scored a double century for the first time in Test cricket. Rohit scored 212 runs in 255 balls with the help of 28 fours and 6 sixes. Rohit completed a double century by hitting a six off the third ball of the 88th over.

After playing an unbeaten innings of 117 runs on the first day, he again landed on the field on the second day and looked in the same rhythm. Rohit Sharma gave his first double century of his Test career. Rohit Sharma has become the fourth batsman to score 200+ in both Test and ODI Internationals. Earlier Sachin Tendulkar, Virender Sehwag and Chris Gayle have done this feat.

Rahane’s 11th Test century

Test vice-captain Ajinkya Rahane has scored the 11th century of his Test career. Rahane scored 115 runs in 192 balls with the help of 17 fours and a six. Rahane had a chance to score a century, which he redeemed. He scored his 11th century of his career with the help of 14 fours and a six in 169 balls. Ajinkya Rahane last scored a century in the Antiga Test against West Indies in August 2019.

Rohit Sharma’s sixth Test century

Rohit hit the sixth century of his career with the help of 13 fours and 4 sixes in 130 balls. He is completed the century by hitting a six off the fourth ball of the 45th over. This is Rohit Sharma’s third century in the current Test series against South Africa. With this, Rohit Sharma, known as Hitman, became the second Indian opener to score 3 or more centuries in a Test series.

Prior to Rohit Sharma, Sunil Gavaskar has done 3 or more centuries in 3 different series. Rohit Sharma completed 2000 Test runs in his career. Before this series, Rohit had only three centuries in his name. But he has got six centuries in 30 Test matches. Rohit has got 6 centuries in Test matches on Indian soil.

India playing XI

India: Virat Kohli (captain), Mayank Agarwal, Rohit Sharma, Cheteshwar Pujara, Ajinkya Rahane, Riddhiman Saha, Ravichandran Ashwin, Ravindra Jadeja, Mohammed Shami, Umesh Yadav and Shahbaz Nadeem.

South Africa playing XI

South Africa: Dean Elgar, Quinton de Cock, Zubair Hamza, Faf du Plessis (captain), Temba Bavuma, Henrik Klassen, George Linde, Dan Pete, Cagiso Rabada, Enritt Nortije, Lungi Ngidi.

Also Read these


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here